new built won't start up

buckeye286

Reputable
May 1, 2014
Hello guys, I am building my first gaming computer so I apologize in advance if Im a noob. But I got done building my computer and I think I wired everything correctly. But when I connected everything to power there was a red light on my motherboard and then I tried to turn on my new built computer, my apartment breaker tripped. So I went and fixed the breaker and now when I plug in my new built there is no light or anything and It won't start up or do anything. Please guys help me out I would really appreciate it. Thanks alot in advance to anyone who responds to this.

buckeye286

Reputable
May 1, 2014

does that mean all my computer parts are worthless now? What should be my next move, any recommendations?

Mouldread

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2013

I wouldn't be so pessimistic about it.

If you have somehow managed to plug the wrong cable into the wrong socket/plug when you've been building your PC (I don't even know how could this happen) and now you get no power at all in the PC then most probably the PSU fuse has blown up to prevent further damage. The other reason for this to happen is if your PSU wasn't powerful enough to give enough juice to your system. Maybe you could tell us what are your system specs including the PSU.

Also (not sure how it is in other countries) but if you are in the UK most (if not all) power cables come with a fuse too so this is another thing to check.
uk_fuse.jpg

If your PSU is powerful enough to power up your PC then try changing the fuses I told you about (either in power cable or PSU); but before changing the fuses go through your MotherBoard user manual and double check you have plugged everything where it should be plugged to avoid future mishaps.

buckeye286

Reputable
May 1, 2014

My computer specs:
Case: Phantom 410
CPU: Intel I7 haswell
Motherboard: Asus z87 pro
video card: EVGA GTX 770
power supply: corsair RM750 watts
memory: Corsair Vengeance 8 gb 2400 mgh