Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisafp07

Distinguished
Nov 27, 2012
Hi guys, although this is a random post I figured this would be the best community to ask, to gain any perspective, or heed any warnings given. The short is that I'm leaving the military and trying to find my way in a civilian world. I have the opportunity to take over clientele from a local IT business owner who is very sick and wants to hand off clientele to someone he trusts. Although I have no professional training in IT I've always been a PC hobbyist and I'm the guy everyone in the family calls to fix their hardware or software issues. I also have already gotten 3 jobs basically buying new hardware for 3 small businesses and getting them up to speed with current tech practices and current tech hardware (they are using very outdated stuff in all cases). I'm currently studying to get my A+ cert and I'd say a good amount of the information I've already covered I had some previous baseline knowledge of. I will also pursue my Network + and Security+ certs to gain some baseline understanding of the current industry.

What can you tell me from your experiences in business whether working for someone or yourself?

What are some pitfalls I should avoid?

Where are good places to purchase hardware instead of going to places like Amazon, Bestbuy etc?

Do you have any tips, warnings, ideas that you think would benefit me at this stage?

*As a side note I was a Crew Chief in the US Air Force and I do not want to do aircraft maintenance/safety inspection in the civilian world. I've always loved tech and really want to get into this industry.
Thanks for any help it is greatly appreciated!

USAFRet

Titan
Amazon, Newegg Business, Microcenter if one is nearby.

The main thing you're going to have to wrap your head around is service. Warranty.
Changing, and often unreasonable customer demands.