[SOLVED] New ground up build for 3080, Intel vs AMD for longevity

FinalJenemba

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2010
Hi all, just looking to get some opinions on my upcoming build. My 3770k and GTX 970 have served me well for years but its time. I only do a build every 6-7 years so I like to get the best I can when I do so its pretty future proof. Will be primarily a gaming/standard computer shenanigans machine. Mainly trying to decide between the new 10850K or a 3900xt. Basically with me wanting this machine to last me as long as I do is the slight gaming advantage of the Intel worth loosing PCI-E 4.0 support and the extra heat stress? Im not a pro gamer, I use a 1440p 75hz display and may upgrade to a 4k at some point but don't really need high refresh. Running a 3080 would I even notice the FPS difference between the two platforms? Thanks!

Solution
Since intel hasn't confirmed (yet) if pcie 4.0 will be working for socket 1200 mobos in the next 11gen CPU (motherboards are ready but CPUs are not for now), I would really wait a bit or, as you explained if you are done waiting and wana keep your rig for 5~7 years then get a B550 or X570 mobo and go with AMD (I would really skip the XT series, they are really not worth it).
You will be able to upgrade to Zen 3 later On if you need more horse power.

If you don't mind changing platofrm earlier than 6~7 years, then the 10600K/10700K will be more than enough for 1440p or 4K as long as the GPU can keep it up.

Until reviewers can get thier hands on the RTX 3080 and 3090 it will be imposible to know if pcie 4.0 may or not be need it, or...

InvalidError

Titan
If you can wait 4-6 more months, then you can have it all with either Zen 3 or Rocket Lake: Zen 3 should close whatever performance gaps remain with Intel and Rocket Lake should bring PCIe 4 to desktop Intel-Land.

Right now, for less than 100Hz refresh, both Intel and AMD are perfectly fine. At high refresh rates (120+Hz), Intel often pulls 10-20% ahead of Zen 2.