New House networking wiring

finalfantasyfan

Honorable
Mar 1, 2013
I am building a new house and here is the floor plan with AV/data wiring recommendation from the builder.

Do you think I have enough data cable connection(cat5e/RJ6)? Builder will include 3 cat6 cable connections only. Where should I put the cat6 connection? I am a newbie so please help me on this.
a2e3b1ed_MyHome.jpeg

Any other recommendation and suggestion? Thanks a lot.

Do not worry about the difference between cat5e and cat6. They both can run 1G if you ever would need to run more than 1G you need to run cat6a or cat7 cable so your cat6 cable would not work anyway.

It appears they are running cat5e for the phones even. If they run all the cat5e cable they have indicated on this plan you should have more than you can ever use.

Although cat 6 cable is technically better on paper it makes no difference because you cannot buy equipment that will use the ability of the cable and they skiped to 10g as the next point up in speed which cat6 cannot support.

dbhosttexas

Honorable
Jan 15, 2013
Are you assigning one of the rooms to be a home office? I am assuming the space labelled "study" would be your home office. I would have your Cat6 runs from there. Don't bother with Cat5e. It's already pretty much obsolete. If they won't run Cat6 but in 3 places, make sure they centralize here. Honestly I would run at LEAST one Cat6 to each bedroom, living/ family rooms. Wherever you will have a TV, set top box I would have a cable run for each, so assume you have a PS3, a Wii, and a SmartTV in the living room, your best configuration is to run 3 Cat6 cables to wherever you want to put that entertainment center... See if you can pay them extra to do it right the first time. MUCH better than tacking on later...

In the office you will want a single, large enough switch for all your ports, and a few extras if you decide to add on later.