New internal hd been sought, Does it have to be the same brand & specs

arda21

Distinguished
Feb 26, 2005
Hi Forum,

I have DP35DP Intel motherboard, I have been using my desktop for almost 3 years now.

I am now going thru some serious update, and since it's been 2+ years I haven't followed up with new tech and new specs. I just want to be sure before I start spending any dough on anything. I currently have 3 internal hard drives, with Seagate brand. I have been searching for different options and I am thinking to get a new 1 TB internal hard drive, my main question is that;

1-Do I have to match the new internal hd's brand with existing ones? in other words Do I have to purchase a new Seagate hd in my case? or can I go with lets say completely different brand like WD?

2-second thing is in the manual of the motherboard, it writes "The Desktop Board supports six Serial ATA channels (3.0 Gb/s) via ICH9R, connecting one device per channel. One channel is configured as an eSATA channel." I am assuming this 3.0 Gb/s spec is the only thing I need to make sure it matches with the new internal hd? or Do I have to match also things like cache size (some has 32mb, some 64mb I saw)

3-in general if you can enlighten me in the things I need to make sure not to have any problems with my existing hard drives, I would appreciate,

Thank you for your time in advance,

Arda

ps. I dont know if it matters, but just in case I have & plan to continue using Windows 7 64 bit Professional.

You can purchase any SATA drive from any manufacturer. It doesn't matter what the cache size is. It doesn't matter if it's a 3Gbit/sec drive or a 6Gbit/sec drive - all SATA ports and drives are designed to auto-negotiate the fastest speed common to both the port and the drive.

Basically, there's very little to worry about other than:

- do you have space inside the case to mount the drive?
- do you have a spare SATA power cable to plug into the drive?