[SOLVED] New-ish AMD Ryzen 7 x3800 build problems

Nov 25, 2019
First post here. Don't know where else to turn, but I've found lurking on this forum helpful, and usually when doing a Google search on an issue Tom's Hardware forum pops up with something useful.

I have a sort of new build (a few older components carried over) that is causing me headaches. I've built over a dozen systems for home and office, so I'm not a total newb. But this is the first time attempting an AMD system since the old Athlon days. I attempting to just run things stock with little to no overclocking. Here are my components:

AMD Ryzen 7 x3800 (Noctua NH-U12P cooler)
Asrock x570 Extreme4 (BIOS updated to 2.10)
G.Skill Trident Z Neo DDR4 - 3600MHz (F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC)
Silicon Power 2TB NVMe M.2 PCIe Gen3x4 2280
EVGA Geforce GTX 980 Ti
Windows 10 64bit Pro

I have assembled everything, and have a couple issues:

First, it takes abnormally long to post after hitting the power, maybe 15-20 seconds.
When it finally boots into Windows 10, the login screen freezes for another 30 seconds or so and no mouse or keyboard input is possible.
The freeze releases and I can login, but after maybe after another 10 seconds the "device disconnected" sound plays . . . and freezes, causing the sound to hold on a buzz.
Usually it then releases and things run mostly normally. But sometimes it reboots.
My CPU idle temp (reported in BIOS) is generally 45-58°C, which seems high to me.

To fix the above, I have:

Updated the BIOS to the latest version (2.10).
Attempted to force the timing and voltage of the memory in BIOS to the stated ratings rather than letting it auto set. This caused the computer not to post, and I had to clear the CMOS.
Reinstalled Windows 10 in a non-CSM (Compatibility Support Module) environment.
Attempted to boot with only one DRAM module (tried both). This caused even further instability.

My next step: