New PC will not start

Jul 15, 2018
New PC won't start.

It's my first time building a pc, and after I plugged in everything properly (checked at least twice everything) the power source, cpu and gpu fans start but only for 1 second.

PC configuration
MSI GTX 1060 6GB OC
AMD Ryzen 5 2600x
MSI X370 Gaming Plus
8GB RAM Kingston 2400 Mhz single channel
The power source is from an old pc of mine, njoy 600W

Video with issue
https://youtu.be/61Co3JRHy-8

I have tested the GPU and it works on a different build.

Do you have any idea what can be the problem? At first when I tested the build all the fans were working but nothing was displayed on my monitor. I tried to change the RAM on all the slots and after I tried this a couple of times, the fans were no longer starting, like in the video.

Any advice?

alliboneben

Prominent
Nov 25, 2017
Have you tried other basic troubleshooting methods, e.g. placing your ram into a different dim slot, seeing if the system works with a different psu?
If you have a different system nearby to swap parts in and out of to test whether they are faulty this may help

alliboneben

Prominent
Nov 25, 2017
If you can somehow get hold of a different psu that may help a lot, probably a stupid suggestion cause most people don’t have a spare psu laying around, but if you have a friend that has one you could ask them

ccfonzie

Honorable
Jan 21, 2018
Same “exact” thing happened with my last build 5 months ago. I had to RMA the board back to the manufacturer. You can double check by taking the motherboard out of the case and testing components. 1st by checking if the CPU fan is working correctly. I'll bet my money it's the board.

alliboneben

Prominent
Nov 25, 2017