[SOLVED] New PC won't boot

Oct 1, 2021
Hi all,

I'm new to pc building and made my first one 2 days ago... But got CPU failure.
At first I thought cpu socket was dead coz all pins are down, but it looks like wiki's LGA1200 picture.
Today I tried to unplug all but CPU, power switch and PSU for mobo and CPU : i heard a click over CPU and PC reboots every 1s (with the same click).
I tried unpluging CPU power, and no click, no reboot but hard CPU light on EZ debug (expected).
Everything is new and idk how it should look/act like.
Can some give me any idea?

I5-10400
Z490 TOMAHAWK
RM850

Thanks !

Solution
Do you have the 8 Pin and 4 Pin ATX connectors plugged in? In looking at the manual, it doesn't say that the 4 Pin is optional, so it may need both pins connected? My motherboard manual (ASUS ROG STRIX Z490-E) shows the 4 pin as option. It may not be required but doesn't hurt to try.

"Thermal paste was packed with the cooler and I used all (maybe too much?) As said, all pins are in the same position and MSI support checked the picture. " There isn't a thing as too much, just makes a mess and only an issue if gets on the CPU pins. If comes pre-applied on the cooler, it is normally enough. Outside of that, must recommend a small pea size dot in the middle or a thin X across the GPU. I use an application tool that comes...

Lutfij

Titan
When posting a thread of troubleshooting nature, it's customary to include your full system's specs. Please list them like so:
CPU:
Motherboard:
Ram:
SSD/HDD:
GPU:
PSU:
Chassis:

Which slot(s) are you populating on the motherboard? As for the CPU, did you make sure your CPU cooler's fan is plugged into the CPU_FAN header on the motherboard? Can you parse a picture of your CPU's socket? It's probable that you did indeed bend a pin on the motherboard.

Oct 1, 2021
I only listed components I used for test.
CPU: i5-10400
Motherboard: MSI z490 TOMAHAWK
Ram: 2x Ballistix 8GB 3200MHz RGB
SSD/HDD: FireCuda 510 - 1TB