Question New Self-Built PC, FPS drops in multiplayer games

Jul 7, 2022
Hi all,

I'm new to this whole process. I previously had a laptop and when it died I decided to take the plunge and build my own PC. Everything went fairly smoothly with assembly (my brother, who is a novice but has experience, helped me put it together) but I've been having performance issues. In certain multiplayer games (so far I've noticed Fall Guys and The Forest, both on Steam) have FPS drops when I'm grouped up with other players. In other multiplayer games such as Valorant I don't appear to have this issue- I'm getting upwards of 300 stable FPS. So why would I be getting such severe FPS drops (it goes down to 6 FPS sometimes) in a game like Fall Guys, a game that I had no trouble running on my ancient laptop? Considering I'm new to this, I'm worried I did something wrong. From what I understand, both Fall Guys and The Forest are poorly optimized, so I wonder if they may be exposing some issue with my build that other games might be compensating for.

Here are my specs:

CPU - AMD Ryzen 7 3800X 8-Core Processor 3.90 GHz
Installed RAM - Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO 16.0 GB
Motherboard - Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite Motherboard
GPU - ASUS ROG Strix NVIDIA Geforce RTX 3060
OS - Windows 10 64 Bit
PSU - evga 210-gq-0750-v1
BIOS - F64B
SSD - Sandisk SSD Plus 1TB
HDD - Seagate BarraCuda 4TB Internal Hard Drive
Case - Corsair iCUE 4000X RGB Tempered Glass Mid-Tower ATX Case

Let me know if I left out anything important.

Troubleshooting attempts:

-Trying different GPUs (I tried my brother's 2070 super and suffered the same FPS drops even though his PC does not)
-Resetting OS
-Downgrading OS (I started on Windows 11 and downgraded to Windows 10 from installation media. No FPS improvement)
-Wiping GPU drivers with DDU and installing a billion different drivers (I'm currently using the latest recommended game ready graphics drivers by Nvidia)