New to liquid cooling- questions about pump/fan control and additional water blocks on the mobo

sorican

Commendable
Nov 27, 2017
Okay, so this is my first build for a liquid cooled PC. I'm not entirely unfamiliar with liquid cooling- I use it a fair amount in high-end drones and R/C aircraft that I sell, so I'm fairly familiar with the physical mechanics and basic components of a loop. I'm not deluding myself into thinking the similarities end any further than that.

I appologize if I seem like I'm just shotgunning questions. I've read the guides and theres a few specific details that I'm concerned about, going forward. I have read the stickies, and will probably re-read them several times more yet. I greatly appreciate people taking the time to look at this and lending their advice.

I've recently had reason to begin a series of upgrades on the rig, which on the high-load end, I use to run CFD, tapping the GPU's for running the math problems. The chip is running hotter than I would like, and the only real change I could make is going to a Noctua NH-D15, but it's too large for my case to be practical, and I was going to make the switch to a custom loop rig when I did the next series of upgrades any how, which is to go for SLI 1080's, and I'm going to be getting parts that can handle that expansion.
My current air-cooled rig is as follows:
Phanteks Entho Pro case (split window, if it matters)
MSI z370 gaming M5 motherboard
Intel i7 8600k currently throttled to the base 3.7ghz, which under modest load maintains a temperature at 40-50 deg. c.
64 gig corsair vengeance ram, 2400 mhz.
MSI geforce 1060 6gb aero, not overclocked currently.

I have two intake fans- a 200m front fan, and a 140 bottom fan mounted forward with a duct redirecting the flow towards the back of the case- about a third the air flow is under the PSU cover, while the rest is above..