Question New unexpected Power-Offs

Triss_

Reputable
Mar 3, 2017
Hello.

Let me start by saying I'm an IT professional and I've dealt with the windows and linux PCs since 1998.
I tried to analyze, test and troubleshoot the problem the best I could, given the available software and hardware, and now I turn to you, the professionals, for help.

Problem: New unexpected power-offs
They started today, the system just powered-off 3 times while playing Far Cry 5, though I've played it for 2 weeks without any issues, so it could be a coincidence. I also have played much more resource-demanding games successfully.

On each of the 3 times the system would run for 167 min, 82 min or 105 min respectively, before it powered off.

Windows Event Viewer only reported the Kernel-Power "system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first", nothing else, as expected.

No new software since over a month ago, no new drivers for months.
No new Windows Updates since October 2019, no important updates left to get.

In terms of safety, I'm super conscious about:
  • anything I run, the temp folder is on a RAMrive and any unsigned programs run in sandbox without any elevation. UAC always set to max (always notify).
  • the case is always closed, no cables obstructing the airflow, clean fans, good ambient temps, dry air.
Done so far:
  • CPU/GPU Stability tests passed over 15 minutes time, to put max load on the PSU
  • temps normal as seen here, system monitoring (Aida64, Afterburner, Radeon Software) report no issues
  • HDD/SSD error/S.M.A.R.T. checks passed
  • Performed full deep scan for virues
Currently moving home - no pendrive at hand to run memtest (ran it half a year ago OK though).
I do not have another PSU or motherboard to test.

System:
Since November 2015 it is:
  • Board: Asus Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
  • CPU: AMD FX-8350, 4 GHz
  • RAM: HyperX Savage 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) 1866 MHz DDR3 CL9
  • PSU: Antec True Power 550W PSU 80 Plus Gold
  • SSD: Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB