Question New X58 CPU on a budget?? Overclocking?

TheDirtySox

Honorable
Feb 20, 2016
Hey, so I have a Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R, which supports LGA 1366. I currently have an i7 920 2.67ghz overclocked with a dual fan Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo. I am a complete noob at overclocking and might not have overclocked it very well, but either way, I am not getting nearly the performance I want out of it. I can run PUBG at low but when I do I get crazy frame drops, which I know is mostly CPU. I am going to upgrade my ram from 8gb to 16gb and I have a 1050Ti which isn't the greatest card but I am on a budget. While I am upgrading the ram I would also like to upgrade my CPU. I didn't know if it would be worth the CPU upgrade to a Xeon or if I should try and overclock the i7 920 more than I have now. I believe I got it to 3.6ghz and anything after that would overheat it, so I'm not sure I could even overclock it more. At the same time, I don't even know if the overclock was effective because I am getting around the same Cinebench score I was getting before around 450, and CPU-Z says I am getting 2833mhz. I have been looking at a Xeon W3580 or maybe a W3680 if the extra money is worth it. I am on a really tight budget but want something that won't bottleneck my system and will give me a non-irritating PUBG experience. What do you guys think? Will the Xeons even be worth it or should I try and get the best out of the 920? Will the xeons even be overclockable too/how to do that cause I'm a total noob at overclocking? Thanks

Here's my motherboard's support list:

https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Motherboard/GA-X58A-UD3R-rev-20#support-cpu

hirschbergt

Distinguished
Aug 17, 2009