Newbie with SCSI questions

G

This is my first time putting together my own system. Before I have always bought a complete system, but this time around I wanted to do it myself. I'm looking for some advice regarding the motherboard, DVD drive and scanner components.

Here are the components I am planning, a * means I have already bought that component.

18" Mid tower w. 300W power supply
* 256Mb DDR SDRAM, Crucial
MSI K7 Master(-S)
1.2GHz AMD Athalon, 266MhzFSB, retail
MSI Gforce2 Pro w. 64Mb RAM
Pioneer 16X DVD Drive (SCSI)
* Quantum Fireball AS 30 Gb hard drive
* Soundblaster Live! 5.1 OEM
* Altec Lansing ACS33 speakers
* 3 button optical mouse w. scrolling wheel
* Logitech Cordless Freedom internet keyboard
* Linksys 10/100 Ethernet card
Linksys Cable/DSL Router (or 3COM)

Already have:
- Mitsumi CDRW, IDE
- Umax Scanner, SCSI
- ISA SCSI card (useless to me for new system)
- PCI 56K modem.

So, I'm debating right now between getting a K7 Master-S, with integrated SCSI, and keeping my current scanner, or going with the basic K7 Master and buying a new USB scanner. Alternately I could buy a PCI SCSI card, but I have no idea what I would need as there seem to be a ton of SCSI cards of varying prices.

If I do go with the K7 Master-S, I was debating making my DVD drive a SCSI version. The idea being that my hd and cdrw could then be master on their own IDE channels, and the DVD would be SCSI. This seems to be a good idea to me, but then I'm rather new to this... does it pose problems for me?

Questions:
- Is a SCSI DVD drive as good performance-wise as an IDE one?

- Would I have difficulty in burning from CD to CD with the SCSI DVD and IDE CDRW?

- Would the K7 Master-S integrated SCSI controller be able to control both the scanner and DVD drive?

- If I can't find the K7 Master-S, what is a recommended SCSI card to control my scanner and DVD drive?

- I found is a Tekram DC-395U Ultra Wide SCSI at a decent price, would that do it?