Newly Discovered Security Weakness Affects Most Laptops

Status
Not open for further replies.

Co BIY

Splendid
So the attacker has to steal a laptop that is currently running, before performing the firmware switch and cold boot. Because the data they could potentially steal is wiped out during a normal shutdown ?

This would be a pretty advanced and complicated attack.

Pat Flynn

Distinguished
Aug 8, 2013
OK... I work in IT... if you have physical access to a device that isn't supposed to be accesed., the security is compromised. PERIOD.
I think we really need the media to chill on these 'security flaws', all you're doing is scaring the sheeple.

I repair computer and sometimes clients forget their password (stored in outlook or web browser) When I show them how easy it is to get them they are mostly shocked. If you have physical access to computer, it is really easy to download tools and get info you want. This is not a new security issue.

stdragon

Admirable

Short of an exploit I"m not aware of, I'm not sure a machine encrypted with BitLocker (FIPS certified encryption) can be cracked. I suppose it might be possible if the hibernation file (a RAM dump in a large file) was left in an unencrypted state, but I'm certain it's not, no?

This is inportant for companies that keep big trade secrets, not for consumers (the same as most security issues discovered recently).
So I wouldn't ignore it, but also it's important to know about the demographics targeted.

Dosflores

Reputable
Jul 8, 2014

Are you talking about computers that are protected by BitLocker? If you don't use BitLocker, data isn't protected at all.

Dosflores

Reputable
Jul 8, 2014

Hibernation is safe. This new vulnerability only affects computers that are in sleep mode.

Aug 2, 2018

You should be fired . PERIOD.

Physical access to a device does not mean security is compromised . it means the IT department is ignorant.