No display on monitor when booting, but it works on reboot

Aug 11, 2018
(Sorry for bad english | I am not very tech savvy | spec at bottom)
I have recently built my first computer (2-3 months ago).
Ever since it was put together I have had this problem with the display on the monitor.

Problem:
When I press the power button on the chassis it seems like the computer is turning on, but the monitor gets no display. If I reboot by pressing the restart button on the chassis, it reboots and the monitor works fine everytime. And I have been doing that for a while, while looking for solutions.
However if I restart my computer from the desktop (by pressing the windows icon and so on) the monitor gets no display when the computer turns back on. It is only when I press reboot on the chassis.

Some anomalies that may be caused by the way I turn the computer on:
Google Chrome will almost always open my last tabs from the day before.
Spotify will often forget I am logged in.

For the record, I am using a small flatscreen tv as a monitor.
The problem persisted even before I installed windows

Stuff I have tried, but didn't work:
- Connecting the the monitor directly to the motherboard in stead of the GPU.
- Tried different monitors (but all flatscreen tv's).
- Different cables (hdmi/avg).
- Taking everything out and putting it back in.
- Trying different ports for the RAM. 1 at a time
- Only using some of the non-cpu fans.

The only thing that worked was building the computer on the box the mobo came in. The display worked on every initial boot. I then tried putting it back inside the chassis and the problem was back.

I hope I have included enough details.

Thanks for the help

spec:
PSU Corsair CX550M, 550W
MoBo: ASUS Prime B250-Plus
Ram: 2x HyperX FURY DDR4 2133MHz 4GB
CPU: Intel Core i5-7600
GPU: ASUS GEFORCE GTX 1060 DUAL 3G

Solution