Noob needing help. tips pls!!!!

derkboy

Distinguished
Dec 26, 2008
So i am trying to custom build my first desktop, my m50 just isn't enough anymore.

i am looking at a system with the stats and brand:

1tb sata WD
8gb ddr3 Corsair
gigabyte ga-p55
saphire ati 5770
intel i7 860 2.8
corsair tx 750w silent
LG blueray- dvd burn

so like i said its my first time and i have no idea what i'm doing and i hav eno one close to me that knows a PC inside out, is there anything else that i might be missing?? i think these are the essentials.
i would like a coolermaster m690 but its a bit big for my liking, is there analternative with similar cooling? or is any tower case good for this particular build??

i've read that 2x hd5770 = one hd5870, so which is better? i'm not a hardcore gamer, so is a single 5770 enough to run games like MW2, Black ops?? i know crysis is the benchmark, but i dont expect or need the games to run at max graphics, i can compensate. and also is there a difference to running 4x 2gb ddr3 to 2x 4gb ddr3?? keeping in mind that the ga p55 only has 4 slots.

also do i need anything to link up USB? like on the case itself, do i need to buy any hardware to link it to the motherboard???

the budget i have for this build is roughly $1000 give or take 200, for screen, key board etc.

really guys ANYTHING you have from tips, to past experience would be GREATLY appreciated.

1. Two 5770s are slightly better than a 5850 (barely), but a 5870 is better than either. If you're building from scratch, always go with the single-card option if the performance is roughly the same. Crossfiring is not perfect and can give you problems with some programs even if you know what you're doing, just because the program doesn't like multiple GPUs. Also, it usually generates a lot more heat and uses more power.