noob - Power supply, home wiring and safety

Status
Not open for further replies.

eco_bach

Distinguished
Oct 18, 2015
Building a 3GPU (3XTitan Xp's) for rendering. Based on initial research I guestimate almost 1000W under maximum load when rendering.

Since I'm a total noob when it comes to things electrical and also because I live in an older building(no fuses, just circuit breakers) I thought it best to ask for feedback on safety.

Does 1000W sustained over long intervals (8-24hrs) pose any risk to typical, or even older home wiring?
I checked the circuit breaker box and can only see a rating of 100amp at the top of the box, nothing listed for individual switches.

Solution
It depends on the gauge of wiring going from the circuit breaker to the wall outlet as to how much it can handle. If the house was wired correctly, the wiring would be sufficient for the breaker to trip before too much power went through the lines and burned the lines up. A common breaker is 20A*110V=2200W on that single breaker before it tripped. You could go look at your breaker box and see what the Amperage is on the breaker that you will be using.

There are other variables to consider though. Was the house wired properly? Are there any open wires from poor installation? Could mice have eaten through the protective coating on the wire? There are things that could still present a danger. I'm not an electrician, but I did do some...
Well, starting from basic electrical theory: Power (in watts) = potential difference, or voltage (Volts) x current, symbolized I (measured in Amps), so flipping around to solve for amps, I=P/V.

On a 120V power line (give or take a few volts in real life), 1000W/120V= 8.3 amps. That's a long way from breaking that circuit breaker. Put another way, a common microwave or even hair dryer uses quite a lot of power. Circuits that have no problems with devices like that won't care if it's a PC using the watts.

I want to ask some performance questions first: