Noob question regarding VGA vs HDMI

psychoanalyst

Distinguished
Sep 8, 2012
I am a total noob in the Monitors department.

I currently have a Dell S2309W 23-inch Widescreen LCD monitor which I bought way back in 2009. It is a Full HD (1080p) monitor. It only takes VGA and does not have an HDMI port.

I have consistently seen that my pictures (I shoot quite a bit and have a high end DSLR) look dull and almost soft compared to what I see on my camera's display, where they "pop" and look extremely sharp.

I had the same experience with 1080p Gopro videos. They almost look like low res videos on my monitor, but they look nice and sharp on my laptop screen.

I am open to upgrading my monitor to a more modern one (it is high time anyway and I am considering the Lenovo - L24q-20), but I was looking for an explanation on what about the monitor is causing this resolution/clarity loss? Is it the VGA interface? After all it is advertised as a Full HD monitor.

I am assuming that a VGA to HDMI converter will have no benefit at all? I do have a GeForce 750 Ti graphics card.

Would appreciate any inputs and any thoughts on the replacement monitoring I am considering.

Thanks!

Avi

Hardware Brad

Notable
Jul 24, 2017
Look into a monitor calibrator. Calibrating your monitor with something like a Spyder 5 will help a lot with your color quality, especially with photography.

To answer your question though, the big differences between VGA and HDMI are that VGA is an analog signal, and HDMI is digital. VGA has a max resolution of about 2k, whereas newer HDMI standards can go up to 4k. At 1080p there is no difference between HDMI and VGA as far as resolution.

Buying a new monitor might make a difference, however, it still may not come perfectly calibrated out of the box from the factory. Which is why I recommended the calibrator.

molletts

Distinguished
Jun 16, 2009