Noob to overclocking

Wilson1890

Honorable
Nov 16, 2013
First off im new to pc gaming i have a relitivly good computer or so i think i just want to push my cpu to around 3.9ghz i dont have a clue how to do it like if i need a program to do it ? ive over clocked my gpu which is running at 1000mhz x 1450 which is a 7950 and running fine any help would be appreciated

Comp Specs
Fx6300
ga970a mobo
xfx 7950 superclocked
cx600 psu
8gb corsair ram

pit_1209

Distinguished
Go into the bios and just up the multiplier of the cpu until the frecuency you want, is that easy on this cpu, but I don´t advice doing so with stock cooler not past 3.8ghz like mine, you have a great mobo but maybe after 3.9 you have to change the voltages and go little by little and must need a aftermarket cooler.

pit_1209

Distinguished

Remember to go little by little, don´t go past 3.9ghz max not until you have an aftermarket cooler and can see what´s the limit without changing voltages.

computerfreak1

Honorable
Jun 13, 2013

DO NOT overclock on a stock cooler, that would be a terrible choice. Buy a hyper 212 evo for 35 bucks. trust me you do not wanna oc on a stock cooler.

computerfreak1

Honorable
Jun 13, 2013

But that is a terrible choice, just because you've done it does not make it a good idea. Oc'ing on the stock cooler is a very dumb choice.

pit_1209

Distinguished
Is a bad choice, yes but if you´re not messing with voltages and making a mild oc like that nothing will happen, especially if he has a good case. We´re talking about a cpu that likes to go up to 4.5/7 on air with a good aftermarket cooler and with stock is supposed to go up to 4.1 ghz and 3.8ghz all cores with turbo.

Talking about turbo, remember to turn that off on the bios when ocing, you can leave cool n´quiet option on.

computerfreak1

Honorable
Jun 13, 2013

But i don't think it's a good idea to tell someone that's new to overclocking to overclock to 3.8 on a stock cooler.

pit_1209

Distinguished