Question Normal idle temp for Ryzen 7 2700X?

Sep 23, 2019
Just built a rig around the 2700X with the stock Wraith Prism Cooler. I've noticed that during regular sessions of Apex or PUBG, the CPU fan doesn't really spool up too much but I started playing a bit of WoW and noticed that my CPU fan was at max speed and keeping the temps right around 72C. Now I left it alone for a bit but my idle temps were no lower than 53C. All of these observations were used with Ryzen Master. I know that 80C+ is kinda normal for a load but it felt like this came out of nowhere and I'm kinda wondering if I should buy an AIO for the CPU. If the case is being called into question, its the Phanteks P300

Beowolfbreko

Reputable
Mar 12, 2019
I wold go for aftermarket air cooling solution.There are noctua,dark rock,cooler master and scyhe mugen they will keep 2700x cool.I have 2700x oc to 4.2 with noctua nhd15 and my temps wile gaming apex and pubg dont go over 50c.

Reactions: Crosslhs82x2
Sep 23, 2019
That sounds like a good solution. I’m gonna look around and try and find out a good price point for it. Watching some LTT about air vs water cooling, I think you’re correct. I just wish my idle temp was much lower

Reactions: Beowolfbreko

Beowolfbreko

Reputable
Mar 12, 2019
That sounds like a good solution. I’m gonna look around and try and find out a good price point for it. Watching some LTT about air vs water cooling, I think you’re correct. I just wish my idle temp was much lower