[SOLVED] Not enough Ethernet ports - solution = netgear switch?

Jan 31, 2022
Hello, first I am not an IT professional but got assigned to upgrade our operator's workstations.

Background - at an IDEAL workstation, we have an ethernet box that has 4 ethernet ports from this box. Each ethernet port from this box has an IP address, subnet mask and default gateway. We have 4 devices that matches up perfectly with the 4 ethernet ports.. each ethernet line plugs into a desktop computer, a regular officejet printer, a thermal finished goods label printer, and laboratory label printer. So in a nutshell, 4 ethernet cables/ports plug individually into 4 devices (1 computer and 3 kinds of printer). All the devices has mac address also should anyone wonder.

Here's the problem. One of our new workstation location only has 2 ethernet ports that have IPAddress, subnet and default gateway. Therefore, I am only able to hardline into 2 of my 4 needed devices.

I can not ask the operators to unplug one type of printer and plug it into the next type of printer when they need to print a different type of label. It just won't be an acceptable solution. During a major shutdown, I could have electrician expand the ethernet box to increase the number of ethernet ports from 2 to 4. But this is not happening anytime soon.

My idea is to use a SWITCH such as a netgear unmanaged GS105 (5 ports) or similar.
Plan of action: Plug one of the ethernet cable coming out of the ethernet box into the netgear switch. Then run an ethernet from the swtich to the (2) devices that are missing ethernet ports from the box. Remember, I have 2 ethernet ports, but 4 devices.