Not seeing GPU

May 17, 2018
Hi all!

PLEASE HELP!!! The following may be a bit wordy but I hope to explain in detail the situation. Thank you all in advance for any advice or insight!

I have an Nvidia Geforce GTX 1050 TI made by PNY. I recently had an issue where it just kind of went dead on me. I have an old Frankenstein PC I built using a myriad of parts which works better than great. I love this beast. Last week though it started acting funny and I was getting purple and green screens on top of the desktop. I planned on dropping down to WIN 7 from the 10 I have in there now anyhow so I just nuked the HD and went to install WIN 7 only to find that I misplaced the WIN 7 CD.

I put WIN 10 back in and voila! The card worked perfectly again. I then encountered some nasty loading issues immediately afterwards where I had to pop the CMOS battery out of the MB in order to get it to fire up properly again. I've been building PC's for over 10 years and have been pulling my hair out with these issues because they just don't make sense. It wasn't seeing the HD which is an old Maxtor SATA but it works perfectly for me for now again.