Notebook or no Notebook ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

parmsandhu

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2005
Hi Guys and Gals

I am a Student and currently doing my Dual Diploma in Website Development and Internetworking and next year i am moving to RMIT for a full Time Degree in Bachelors of Applied Science. This Degree comes under IT but most of the stuff related to Physics. Basically i have to work on Programming, 3D and AI with advanced Networking and there`s gotta me 11more Electives all corresponding to these stuff. This is a Proper 4yr degree but after Exsumptions it will be shortened to 2yrs and i already have a talk with RMIT officials to crimp it down really hard by removing all the holidays for me, so i finish it in 1yr as i need to do my degree as soon as possible. So, i guess i will have to get a Lappy with Decent Specs.

I have given it a long thought and here is the list of thing i need in the Lappy:

1. Pentium M or Turion from 1.6 to 1.8ghz (other specs doesn`t justify the money spent)

2. 256 to 512 RAM but with atleast another spare slot, so i can atleast put 1gb stick there.

3. 14.1 to 15 inch display, as i need to read a lot. Wide Screen is welcome as the Keyboard will be more wider and will be good.

4. 40gb to 60gb HDD as i already have 400Gb External Backup Drive and just need the Lappy HDD for School work only.

5. LAN is must and normally comes in a Lappy. Modem, Wifi, Bluetooth, WAN all will be rubbish for me as i don`t need them. Wifi can be considered but rest needs to be justified for the price. As i would like to save that money and get more RAM and CPU power.

6. Longer Battery is a must as i will need to last long classes (but i can also manufacture external battery packs is needed for quick charging).

7. Need a dedicated graphics solution, so i wanna play a game while having a break from study, i can.