Notebook with Intel HD Graphics vs Nvidia Geforce: Does it matter at all for Adobe CC software?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dinomight

Reputable
Feb 6, 2015
Hey guys, new poster here, and I've been searching diligently but haven't come across quite the answer I'm looking for on this question, although I did see a similar one about this particular computer; the link to the full details on the computer are below.

http://store.hp.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/us/en/pdp/Laptops/hp-envy---15t-touch-laptop-l8c65av-1

Anyway, I'm a freelance designer, primarily working with Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, Muse, and some occasional InDesign. I do some occasional gaming on my current laptop (Sims, Simcity, nothing too taxing), but the main concern is definitely with how well it will run for work. My current HP Envy laptop is almost two years old, and I'm leaning towards getting another one in this line that has much better specs. I know getting more memory and a faster CPU will make a huge difference...right now I only have 4 GBs RAM and an i5 processor.

All that said, I'm most concerned with the following options, because I really don't know much about the pros and cons of the Intel HD Graphics versus the Nvidia Geforce. Plus, I'm wondering if the different i7 configurations that are used with the Nvidia would negatively impact the Adobe stuff.

Here are the options I'm trying to choose between:

• 5th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U Dual Core Processor + 2GB NVIDIA GeForce 840M Graphics

4th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4720HQ Quad Core Processor + Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600

5th generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-5500U Dual Core Processor + 4GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M Graphics