[SOLVED] Ntoskrnl.exe+44d14e causing CLOCK_WATCHDOG_OVERTIME

Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
It all started like a week ago, when i was using chrome it suddenly freezes my pc, I been using my pc for 2 years with almost no crashes or blue screen, So at first i thought it was the browser, But not it wasn't, Switching to firefox didn't do me any good.
So i start checking everything, from ram to motherboard to disks, I've ran every test, I reinstalled my system, Updated my bios, Try to use only one ram at a time, none of it work, I really don't know what to do now, Someone please help.
Specs:
I9 10900KF
IGAME RTX3070
MSI Z490 ACE
SEASONIC FOCUS GX750 PLUS PSU
G.SKILL TraidentZ 4x8 RAM 3600MHZ
1 Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 2TB
1 WD SN570 1TB
2 additional SSD’s
2 additional HDD’s
system boot in one of the SSD, it's a 850EVO 250GB
I never OC my cpu nor gpu, Only opened XMP file for the ram, but even by default I still run into BSOD, But it only happens if i got some app on, I left my pc open overnight yesterday and it still working fine till now as im typing.
Here's the dump files from different time of the day, the latest was 22:17PM
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1qElSwsnUsOmw8Z_CROWqdhiP3T12t1Di?usp=sharing
 
Last edited:

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,071
4,708
161,190
10,346
clock watchdog timeout can be drivers or hardware. Since it survives reinstalls it is probably hardware of some sort.
What tests have you run?
have you tried running Prime 95? it checks CPU & Ram, which are common causes of this error.
download - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 how to Guide: http://www.playtool.com/pages/prime95/prime95.html
(run it overnight as it can take a while)
run memtest on ram?

I doubt its PSU. Its not where I would start anyway, I have a Seasonic Focus Plus PX750, so I know it shouldn't be the PSU.

I have asked a friend to check dumps, not sure when he will look.
 
Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
clock watchdog timeout can be drivers or hardware. Since it survives reinstalls it is probably hardware of some sort.
What tests have you run?
have you tried running Prime 95? it checks CPU & Ram, which are common causes of this error.
download - https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/prime95-download.html
Prime 95 how to Guide: http://www.playtool.com/pages/prime95/prime95.html
(run it overnight as it can take a while)
run memtest on ram?

I doubt its PSU. Its not where I would start anyway, I have a Seasonic Focus Plus PX750, so I know it shouldn't be the PSU.

I have asked a friend to check dumps, not sure when he will look.
grateful for your help but it's not these problem as i already run through all those tests, i still haven't got into any blue screen till now since i left my pc on yesterday night.
for now im only running some basic softwares like discord, steam, chrome, nivdia gforce, and ICUE which is the watercooling software.
could a software causing this issue? cause i didn't do anything to my drivers after the reinstall, and my hardware are doing fine as im playing a game atm, but i don't have other usual apps open what i'd normally use day to day, and so far my PC are doing good.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,071
4,708
161,190
10,346
I didn't know what tests you had run so had to suggest some in case you hadn't :)

I use Icue myself for same thing.

The bsod could be caused by either, so yes, driver software could be to blame. Windows would have gathered drivers it needs for the hardware, it may not be the newest drivers though.

I can't read dumps until they converted so not a lot I can do right now.
 
Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
I didn't know what tests you had run so had to suggest some in case you hadn't :)

I use Icue myself for same thing.

The bsod could be caused by either, so yes, driver software could be to blame. Windows would have gathered drivers it needs for the hardware, it may not be the newest drivers though.

I can't read dumps until they converted so not a lot I can do right now.
converted you mean by WinDbg? i could post that here if you need.
and CLOCK_WATCHDOG_OVERTIME could caused by software as well? i didn't know that at all.
 

Colif

Win 11 Master
Moderator
Jun 12, 2015
58,071
4,708
161,190
10,346
My friend wrote a program that takes output of windbg and puts into a format I can read easier. can get info like drivers running at time from the dumps as well. He is in another time zone and might be asleep, so I can't really help until then. Some others around here can read the dumps too.

Pretty sure this is error you are getting, I don't know the other one, and google doesn't seem to either = https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/debugger/bug-check-0x101---clock-watchdog-timeout

if its not a driver, its in the CPU and you say you run Intel processor Diagnostic and Prime95, both the tools I would use to check CPU.
 
Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
My friend wrote a program that takes output of windbg and puts into a format I can read easier. can get info like drivers running at time from the dumps as well.

Pretty sure this is error you are getting, I don't know the other one, and google doesn't seem to either = https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/debugger/bug-check-0x101---clock-watchdog-timeout

if its not a driver, its in the CPU and you say you run Intel processor Diagnostic and Prime95, both the tools I would use to check CPU.
yeah i checked with the tools and my cpu are looking fine, my game are still running till now, everything are looking fine, i just don't have some of the apps i would normally open, and i don't know if CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101) could caused by software or not.
 
Last edited:
Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
My friend wrote a program that takes output of windbg and puts into a format I can read easier. can get info like drivers running at time from the dumps as well. He is in another time zone and might be asleep, so I can't really help until then. Some others around here can read the dumps too.

Pretty sure this is error you are getting, I don't know the other one, and google doesn't seem to either = https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/debugger/bug-check-0x101---clock-watchdog-timeout

if its not a driver, its in the CPU and you say you run Intel processor Diagnostic and Prime95, both the tools I would use to check CPU.
just run into another BSOD, so it's not the software.
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
Hi, I ran the dump files through the debugger and got the following information: https://jsfiddle.net/062eLxgt/show This link is for anyone wanting to help. You do not have to view it. It is safe to "run the fiddle" as the page asks.
File information:071522-9343-01.dmp (Jul 15 2022 - 07:25:06)
Bugcheck:CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: MemCompression)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 17 Min(s), and 52 Sec(s)

File information:071522-9281-01.dmp (Jul 15 2022 - 10:15:01)
Bugcheck:CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: firefox.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 34 Min(s), and 42 Sec(s)

File information:071522-9234-01.dmp (Jul 15 2022 - 01:27:59)
Bugcheck:CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 11 Min(s), and 49 Sec(s)

File information:071522-9187-01.dmp (Jul 15 2022 - 01:14:06)
Bugcheck:CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: DownloadSDKServer.exe)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 11 Min(s), and 25 Sec(s)

File information:071522-8890-01.dmp (Jul 15 2022 - 01:31:03)
Bugcheck:CLOCK_WATCHDOG_TIMEOUT (101)
Probably caused by:memory_corruption (Process running at time of crash: System)
Uptime:0 Day(s), 0 Hour(s), 01 Min(s), and 38 Sec(s)
Possible Motherboard page: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/MEG-Z490-ACE
You are already using the latest BIOS available.

This information can be used by others to help you. Someone else will post with more information. Please wait for additional answers. Good luck.
 
Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
how weird it says memory_corruption, cause i just ran another memtest test yesterday on all my rams and it all passed.
 

gardenman

Distinguished
Moderator
Most dumps say that. "Memory" can be RAM, virtual memory on a disk drive, or other. Memory corruption could be where a driver messes with the reserved "memory" of another driver.

Colif may reply in a few hours with more insight.
 
Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
Most dumps say that. "Memory" can be RAM, virtual memory on a disk drive, or other. Memory corruption could be where a driver messes with the reserved "memory" of another driver.

Colif may reply in a few hours with more insight.
yeah i got bsod with or without virtual memory, and my memtest tests say all my ram are passed, for now ive changed my cpu to a new one, we shall see if this is gonna work
 
Jul 16, 2022
10
0
10
0
for now i'm using an new cpu and everything works fine, i got all the apps on, and checking websites etc etc, in conclusion i think the ram control in the cpu is broken.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS