Question NUC as a Plex transcoding and simple backup solution - possible?

PiffPuff

Commendable
Jan 8, 2021
Hi guys,

the initial idea was to buy NAS, because it supports SATA III SSDs, which are cheap. However, NAS CPUs and GPUs are pretty average and NAS with more or less decent hardware costs EUR/$ 520-580, e.g. QNAP TS-264-8G or Asustor Lockerstor 2 Gen2 AS6702T. Price for disks will be added on top.

Fast transcoding in Plex Media Server is of high priority to me, so I studied MiniPCs, which have much more powerful hardware than any NAS. Of course, I only considered those Intel CPUs that support Quick Sync (hardware encoding acceleration).

I liked these Intel NUC models: NUC10i3FNH and NUC11TNHi3 (and here is their side-by-side comparison). However, they only support either M.2 or 2.5" drives, which limits me in storage volume, as these disks are more expensive than SATA III.

Both NUCs support at least 2 internal drives (NUC11 supports 3). I'm not sure whether these could be 2x2.5" or only 1x2.5" + 1xM.2, so I calculated the end price of these NUCs with 1x2.5" 2Tb + 1xM.2 2Tb disks and 8Gb RAM to compare this budget with NAS devices mentioned above.

It turns out that NUC with 4Tb of storage on board will cost me EUR 300/350 (NUC10/NUC11, barebone) + EUR 260 (disks) + EUR 25 (DDR4-2666 for NUC10 / DDR4-3200 for NUC11) = EUR 585-635

QNAP (8Gb RAM) with 4Tb HDD will cost me EUR 677
Asustor (4Gb RAM) with the same HDD + 4Gb RAM will cost me EUR 666 :devilish: