Nuclear Engineering + Home Office Build

JBrew1313

Commendable
Jul 16, 2016
I am finally in the market for a new computer, but I noticed that everyone is pushing Windows 10 for their "off the shelf" models, which I have no intention on moving to. So I have started researching building my own, but I'm not an expert in this field so I defer to you all!

I am looking to build something that I can use for nuclear engineering (student for now), as well as run math programs like Mathematica and Maple (and yes, MATLAB as well), and the various AutoDesk products like AutoCAD, MotionBuilder, Inventor and Solidworks as well. I'll also be using this as a home office computer so MS Office, and web browsing too.

I would like to run 2 monitors and be able to dual boot Windows 7 and Linux (Ubuntu probably). Id like to keep the total build price (including monitors and peripherals) under 1000$. I dont need any fancy monitors or anything of the sort, but hey, if the components are cheaper then why not right?

I've done a little research and I'm mostly concerned about the graphics card and processor; whether they will be enough to handle (efficiently) the above stated requirements. I've maxed out the RAM and put in 2TB worth of storage, which is about what I'm looking for. Eventually, I'll move to getting a dedicated home media server too, but I'm sure that'll be a question for a new post in a couple years haha. Let me know what you all think I can improve on with the initial build that I've looked into:

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/wx4sZ8
Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/wx4sZ8/by_merchant/

CPU: AMD A8-7600 3.1GHz Quad-Core Processor ($67.81 @ B&H)
Motherboard: Asus A88X-PRO ATX FM2+ Motherboard ($98.98 @ Newegg)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory ($62.88 @ OutletPC)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory ($62.88 @ OutletPC)