[SOLVED] Number of fans to complement NZXT Kraken Z73 360 mm

tirantloblanc

Distinguished
Jul 30, 2014
Hello, I need some advice on the optimal number of fans. This is my first time building with liquid cooling, and I am confused on how I should treat the radiator fans to ensure air INFLOW = air OUTFLOW.

I am planning a build with the following parts. Everything but the extra fans is already here or on the way.

Case: Corsair 5000D Airflow
CPU: i7 12700K
CPU Cooling: NZXT Kraken Liquid Cooler Z73 360 mm
GPU: ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3080 OC GAMING 10GB
Board: MSI MPG Z690 FORCE
RAM: Corsair Dominator 32GB DDR5 5600Mhz
PSU: Corsair RM1000x

The NZXT will likely be at the top, on exhaust mode.

I am planning to add Noctua NF-S12A PWM Case Fan 120 mm fans.

QUESTION 1: How many of these Noctuas do I need and where should they be? Should it be 3 in the front providing inflow, will that be equally matched by the three NZXT fans in the radiator? Or should I optimally also add an exhaust fan at the back?

QUESTION 2: If after testing I am not happy with the temperatures with 3 Noctuas intake, 3 NZXT radiator outflow, would adding an exhaust fan at the back and one intake on the side (the case allows up to 3 120mm on the side) help?

And finally, if I shouldn't do an extra exhaust fan at the back, what do people do in that situation to avoid dust getting in through the open mesh? Do I have to consider fashioning out my own filter fit to size?

Thanks!

Solution
Understood. My issue is that if I do want to keep the radiator on top, that's 3 fans exhaust + 1 fan in the back (which appears to be a very good idea almost always), that's 4 fans exhaust. So if in front I have just 3 fans, that's an imbalance that apparently is not advised, most say Intake fans should be equal to or higher than exhaust fans.
With air set up to enter from the front, with a bit of a curve upwards out the top and rear... the flow isn't going to get anymore straightforward than that.