Nvidia lying about specs of FX-5900?

JHoxley

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2002
hi all,

just invested in a nice (and expensive) MicroStar Nvidia GeForce FX 5900 (128mb / non-ultra version).

problem is, I think Nvidia are playing stupid games with the tech specs for the chip (or the drivers), was wondering if anyone round here might have heard anything about this sort of thing..??

Being a graphics programmer, I was quite looking forward to using some of the new features on this particular card. One set of features being the HDR (High Dynamic Range) textures - 64bit and 128bit floating point textures. Very cool.

However, a few sample programs I have say that my card doesn't support D3D9 HDR textures. The programming tools in the DX9-SDK back this up.

I have the latest drivers (44.03), so I'm either thinking that nvidia have lied on the box, or the latest drivers have disabled support for such things.

I cant find anyone who has a logical explanation to this, anyone here heard anything like this??

Cheers,
Jack

phial

Splendid
Oct 29, 2002
a guy called "Daverperman" might know, as he does all kinds of stuff like that

but i dunno. doesnt suprise me in the least if this is true

-------

<A HREF="http://www.quake3world.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/001355.html" target="_new">*I hate thug gangstas*</A>

JHoxley

Distinguished
Oct 19, 2002
>> a guy called "Daverperman" might know

I'll look out for him :)

I've contacted Nvidia developer relations to see if they can clarify the matter.

But still, if anyone else round here has any clues I'm all-ears :)

Jack

jiffy

Distinguished
Oct 2, 2001
I’m sorry to hear that. Do you mind if I ask you a question though? I’m considering the same card, I’ll be using it for playing games, would you recommend it?

vacs

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2002
Install the just released DX9.0b SDK and update your drivers to 44.67 (WHQL) or even 44.90 (non-WHQL)... maybe this will help.

coolsquirtle

Distinguished
Jan 4, 2003