Question NVMe SSD Write Speeds Unusually Low

May 3, 2023
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on this forum, so hello everyone!

So I have noticed that my brand new SK Hynix Platinum P41 SSD has very unusually low write speed. I decided to install crystal disk and test the speed to see if I was hallucinating or if it was actually unusually slow. I'm using the drive primarily as a storage drive for games.

Here is a screenshot of my test.

qKYSN5j.png

Here is a screenshot of a test result that I found in the review section of the product page on Amazon (where I purchased the drive).

sx3CBVS.png

It seems that my speeds compared to this user's speeds are drastically different. Any experienced user's out there have any idea why my speeds might be so painfully low?

PC Specs:
W10 Professional
Ryzen 7 7700x
Gigabyte B650 Aorus Elite AX
G.Skill Trident Z5 Neo Series DDR5 RAM (32GB)
SK Hynix Platinum P41 SSD (1TB)

Have you run your tests with various choices made from the "Profile" tab?

Haven't checked lately, but I think that can affect the readings.

What motherboard do you have.....what motherboard does the Amazon user have?

May 3, 2023
Thank you for your comment.
I have run it a couple of times with the following profiles and these have been my speeds:

Default: 800.31, 1723.50, 1100.24
Real World Performance: 1909.67, 1713.16, 1790.85
Peak Performance: 1840.86, 1952.13, 1546.25

This is still well below the advertised 6000 MB/s
The Amazon user did not state their specs, but I am using the Gigabyte B650 Aorus Elite AX.

Eximo

Titan
Ambassador
Your drive appears to be 90% full. You need more free space to run such benchmarks. Working as intended I would say.

And it looks like you already need a 2TB drive (which would have been my recommendation for any new build)

Reactions: AgentBirdnest
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on this forum, so hello everyone!