OC Noob with some questions

G473R

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2006
Hey guys, just signed up for the forums and also just ordered my parts to build a computer. I got all of this...

EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Motherboard (it's the one with the 680i chipset)
EVGA nVidia 8800 GTS
Pentium D 805 Smithfield Dual-Core 2.66 GHz
2 GB Corsair XMS DDR2-800
2 250GB Western Digital Sata HDD
Water cooling components to cool the CPU

Few questions I had as I have been out of the whole computer scene for a while and I dunno about all this newer stuffs.
- How do I setup a Raid 0 config?
- How do I overclock this system? (after seeing that article where they pushed one to 4.1GHz I am trying to do the same thing)
- Is it possible to overclock the GPU also on these 8800's? (waiting for a waterblock for them to come out before I try)
- Anyone have any problems using this stuff before (i.e. a setup similar or an idividual component)?

I know I am a noob when it comes to all this and I apologize if I ask stupid questions. I just would like to know what I am doing before I try to setup everything. I am an IT in the Navy (currently deployed overseas) but I do mostly radio communications and I haven't touched a computer for about a year now. I understand how computers work and how to build them, I am new to this overclocking and raid setups as I have never done either before. I appreciate the help everyone, thank you.

slicessoul

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2006
First of all, i would suggest you to change the processor. Get the Core 2 Duo (C2D) such as E6400 or E6600 not the Pentium 4 D (P4D). C2D performance are far more better than P4D.

G473R

Distinguished
Nov 16, 2006