cocokid50036

Commendable
Apr 6, 2018
so i recently got the ryzen 3900x (paired with aorus pro wifi x570 motherboard) and was wondering a couple things....

1.) was watching der8auer overclock his 3900x and was explaining some of the overclocking by CCX, which i kinda understand but when i turn off PBo and other automated overclocking stuff to do my overclocking, my TDC and EDC seem to get REALLY high.. over the 95a/140a markings on ryzen master.

2.) also wondering if im doing something else wrong. temps get pretty close to the 85-95 range with a corsair H100i V2, after disabling some stuff for auto oc type of settings and adding turbo power curve for OC stability, is that what is causing my higher temps, and TDC/EDC going nuts?

3.) what do you guys think the VID limit should be? ive been reading from 1.35-1.38 range which seems to be reasonable, but im also fairly new to ryzen.

4.) though i understand silicon lottery, and my luck is the worst you could come across, having a roughly 1200 R15 score difference seems a little far off to me. maybe not.. i can get my CCXs running at CCD0 > CCX0 > 4450 // CCD0 > CCX1 > 4425 // CCD1 > CCX0 > 4350 // CCD1 > CCX 1 > 4350.. which seems kinda slacking to me personally... is my luck realllyyyy that bad or am i missing something?

all help is appreciated :)

Solution
3.) what do you guys think the VID limit should be? ive been reading from 1.35-1.38 range which seems to be reasonable, but im also fairly new to ryzen.
Two things about 'Safe Voltage' for Ryzen: first, it's different for each processor. It's determined by testing at AMD and then 'fused' into the FIT curve that's used to govern boosting.