OC'ing Q9450 PK5-E

tomski1981

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2008
first off, i'm sorry if this has been asked before, and if it has, please point me to the right topic. however, i searched for: 'q9450 pk5 e' and no matches were found.

I have a Q9450 on Asus Pk5-E with KINGSTON HYPERX (NVIDIA SLI-READY) DDR2-1066.

first off, MemSet says the RAM Mhz are at 400, but someone said that's because the voltage is low and i need to OC it. so, how do i go about it?

i would like to OC the processor and get the RAM up to 1066 (which is the highest the Mobo can handle). however, i'm new at this.. i tried following some advice from various sites, however, i'm not finding my way around the BIOS and don't see the options to OC anywhere (ie, increasing FSB or voltages). i heard this site is good and people know what they're talking about.

Anyone have some advice?

thank you

TOm

Dopekitten

Distinguished
May 10, 2008
Also, you arn't going to be able to get your ram running at 1066mhz, as that would require 533 FSB, which the Q9450 can't do, at least with 8x multi.

tomski1981

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2008
oops. i went into bios and changed the frequency, now CPU-Z and Memset are saying my DRAM Freq. is 533ish... will this make my system unstable?

tomski1981

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2008
i tried overclocking it, but i realized that i can't because i have high idle temps. i need to go out and buy a Thermaltake Big Typhoon VX. i got the FSB running at 360 with vCore set at auto, and RAM freq at auto... just to get a taste for what OCing is about... and i realized that my core temps are just under 70 with full load(that's just getting the CPU to 2.88Ghz, instead of 2.66 stock... ).. it sucked, i know. but i learned a little about vDrop.. and am happy with the expierience. i set things back to default for now, (except the RAM freq, which i set at 1066) and things seem to be doing well.