Question Odd freezings. Suspect graphic card.

Jul 8, 2019
Hi! Noob here. I have random freezings with my computer and I'm trying to check any component.
Looking at the graphic card (Shappire R9 280X), I see in the specs it needs 750W (https://www.cnet.com/products/sapphire-radeon-r9-280x-dual-x-oc-graphics-card-radeon-r9-280x-3-gb/).

¿Does that means 750W power supply or 750W only for the graphic card at maximun? Because who built my computer installed a 750W power supply...

Note: Freezing totally. You need to unplug and plug again. No alert or error screen in any way.
Note2: Checked every component and peripheric except for the graphic card, motherboard and micro.

Thank you in advance.

Built in 2014, Windows 10 PRO

AMD FX Series FX-9590 4.7Ghz 8X
Sapphire R9 280X Tri-X UEFI 3GB GDDR5
Crucial M500 240GB SSD SATA3
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 Rev 4.0
Nox Urano VX 750W PFC
Enermax Liqtech 120X
2x Kingston HyperX Savage DDR3 1866 PC3-14900 8GB CL9

Last edited:
Jul 8, 2019
The 750W refers to the PSU that's required, it clearly says on that page (your link): Required Power Supply - - 750W
My doubt is if the GC plus other devices, drives, motherboard can ba exceding de 750W and causing the freezings.
It's not clear to me how much energy the GC needs at full performance and if there is enough for the rest of components to work properly.

Crashes only when at graphical activity, let's say games or videos. Thats why I supposed something with the GC but could be anything I suppose.
Maybe damaged areas in the GC RAM? Maybe nothing with the GC? Don't know how to check.

If the PSU was really struggling or couldn't supply enough juice for everything it would fail and system would immediately go dead like a sudden power cut.

I'm not a gamer (I don't do anything graphically intensive on my PC) so I'm of little use to you there. I would post your system's full specs and explain that it keeps freezing, hopefully a few gamers will chip in with suggestions.

Satan-IR

Splendid