[SOLVED] Old guy needs help with boot problem.

RockyCoast

Distinguished
Oct 1, 2012
Hello, I'm not new to computers - my first one was a Kaypro in 1983 - but I'm not an expert by any means. I built my current computer about five years ago (Thanks PCPartPicker.com). I started with a Samsung 250GB SSD for boot drive plus a Samsung 1TB for everything else. Recently I swapped in a Crucial 2TB SSD for the boot drive and used the included Acronis program to do the cloning. THEN Windows automatically updated itself. Here's where trouble starts. What I have now:

Motherboard: ASRock Z97 Extreme6 (CPUSocket)
CPU: Intel Core i7 4770K @ 3.50GHz 47 °C
Haswell 22nm Technology
RAM: 32.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 666MHz (9-9-9-24)
STORAGE: 1863GB Crucial CT2000MX500SSD1 (SATA (SSD))
232GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB (SATA (SSD)) 30 °C
931GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO 1TB (SATA (SSD)) 29 °C
GRAPHICS: S23C350 (1920x1080@59Hz)
4096MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 380 Series (Gigabyte)
PSU: Corsair 1000W 80+ Gold ATX12V fully modular
SYSTEM: Windows 10 Pro 64-bit

So now when I boot I get the black screen with choices - F2, F11, TAB... If I wait a few seconds, it becomes black screen with "Preparing Automatic Repair". Then I get a blue screen with choices: Continue; Turn off your PC; (User Device?); Troubleshoot. I select Continue ("Exit and continue to Windows 10"). That takes me to the FIRST screen.

This time I press F11 to get a Boot Menu. At the top of the list (which I chose in the BIOS) is "Windows Boot Manager"; next on the list is the new Crucial SSD. If I choose THAT, I get: "Reboot and select proper boot device". So I re-boot.

This time I press F11 to get a Boot Menu and select "Windows Boot Manager" and it boots up.

I've tried dozens of times to re-order stuff in the BIOS and nothing has worked to get the dang thing to boot from the new SSD. I've tried almost all the options on the black and blue screens. What am I missing?

Solution