Once the build is over, what are the steps?

BlueSun

Distinguished
Mar 3, 2008
My parts are on the way and, even though this is my first build, I'm pretty comfortable with the actual building, thanks in large part to the help and learning provided here.

Looking ahead - hopefully, not too optimistically! - what are the correct and proper steps to take once you flip that switch and everything works? What do you experts do?

Having done clean installs on existing machines, I understand device boot sequences and installing Windows. Is that the very first thing to do? What programs are needed for proper burn-in and testing?

If this is already covered somewhere and you could provide that link, that would be great.

Also - I'm going to do a "mild" OC to 3.0 on a Q6600. I presume that that's the last thing to do, after the entire system is stable at stock settings?

Again, much appreciate your time and advice!

marneus

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
norton ghost lol
I would take snapshots when you;

1. get windows installed, before updates & before getting on the internet

2. install all the latest drivers (download onto pendrive via your old PC)

3. after all the windows updates... i have had builds of mine screwup during an update

acidpython

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2008
-Run Memtest for a while to check your RAMs decent.
-Partition Hard drive (separate partition for games/OS is recommended unless running a multiple hard drive setup.
-Download stability programs - you can check for instability now if you want.
-Check temps to see if you seated HSF properly
-Check all manufacturers details - especially on RAM, what voltage / timings have they used (p.s. your bios will set to AUTO so you may wish to change that)
-Gently increase FSB until shows instability(prime) then up vcore decide on an overclock that suites you, throughly check stability.
-Benchmark your system :), play some games or whatever you want.

There are some step-by-steps out there.