Question One of My RAM's suddenly not working/detecting and PC won't boot

Nov 5, 2022
Hey guys,

I am very new to PC building and last night was the first time I built my own PC. After updating windows, one of my RAM's malfunctioning and I do not understand why.

Here's my system's specs
CPU: Ryzen 7 5800x
CPU cooler: Lian Li Galahad 360 AIO
GPU: 3060 Strix
MB: Asus B550-A Strix
RAM: G Skill Trident Z Royal 32G (16X2)

Here's the issue. When I first booted my PC, my MB recognized both 16GB RAM . But after a windows update earlier during the day, I suddenly started seeing a DRAM error light on my MB (The RGB light is turned on on both RAMs).

These are the things I've tried and I suspect it's my RAM issue/

1. Switching from A2/B2 to A1/B2
  2. Disassembling MB
  3. When I plug in my working RAM to all 4 DIMM slots separately on its own, it works (This is why I don't think it's my MB issue as I think this means the DIMM slots are fine)
  4. The faulty RAM I suspect does not work on its own (I see a yellow DRAM warning when I try to boot alone in all DIMM slots)
  5. I reset my bios and updated it, it still can't recognize my 2nd faulty RAM I suspect when placed as a dual channel, but boots perfectly when I only put the working RAM on any DIMM slot.

I'm just really confused because this problem came out from nowhere as when I first assembled my PC and it booted fine, my MB recognized both RAMs and I had 32G of memory. But after an update, it suddenly stopped.

Any help or insight would be great here.

Lutfij

Titan
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

Try and reflash the BIOS with the latest version, manually, then clear the CMOS(power down system, disconnect from the wall and display, remove the battery from the board for at least 30 mins before replacing). See if that alleviates the issue.

Does the culprit ram work on a donor system?

Nov 5, 2022
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!