Only 2 sata power cables!!

SomeRandyScrub

Prominent
May 16, 2017
Hello there, I am a big noob when it comes to pc building I wanted to build a pc because i thought it wascheaper than buying one and I thought it was fun, so I have a question about storage.
Ssds and hdds use some cable from the power supply called sata power cable right? Well if that is right, and if I know what a sata cable looks like then I am pretty sure that my psu came with only 2 of those cables, I am using an hdd and an ssd for my build, so when I started building I looked up a tutorial on how to apply my aio cooler ( nzxt kraken x52 ) and I used 1 sata cable which left me with one left so I inserted that into my hdd and then came the ssd in which nothing from the power supply fit into it, someone please help, as I am a noob (as you can see from what I am typing) i don't know what to do if I am right with all of this and you will tell me to buy like some sort of cable I cannot buy that since I spent every penny I have on this pc till the point where I can't spend 1 more dollar please help me! Psu : xfx pro750w 80+bronze

Solution
As you have heard you will have more than enough POWER connectors from your XFS ("PSU" - power supply unit) to power all your SATA devices, i.e., your SSDs & HDDs, as well as other components in your system

Don't confuse these power connectors with SATA DATA CONNECTORS. When you connect a HDD or SSD to your motherboard you connect a SATA data connector to the motherboard. The SATA power connector from the PSU connects directly to the drive. Capiche?

As an aside - as a general proposition one does not build his/her PC because it's "cheaper". By & large (there are some exceptions) a potential user can purchase a similar PC "off-the-shelf" for less money than he/she will expend building a "custom" PC. But the advantages - great...