Question only my CPU overheating?? recently upgraded GPU

May 11, 2023
recently upgraded my gpu from 1060 6gb to 3060 12gb and shortly after my pc has overheating issues but only the CPU , is this more likely my watercooler of 5 years isnt working properly anymore? or new gpu cause this?

Lutfij

Titan
Welcome to the forums, newcomer!

Can you please pass on the specs to your build like so:
CPU:
CPU cooler:
Motherboard:
Ram:
SSD/HDD:
GPU:
PSU:
Chassis:
Monitor:

Out of curiosity, did you use DDU to uninstall all GPU drivers from your platform before you removed the 1060 from your rig? Might also want to include the number of fans in your case and the orientation of said fans in case.

May 11, 2023
im a complete PC novice i did not uninstall anything i just straight up plugged in the new GPU is that bad? and is that fixable? Also have 6 fans in total if u count the 2 on the gpu plus the water cooler which im worried may not be working but idk how to tell

CPU: Intel Core i7-8700 3.2 GHz 6 core processor
CPU cooler: Corsair H100i v2 70.69 CFM Liquid CPU cooler
Motherboard: MSI B360-A PRO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Ram: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3000 CL15 Memory
SSD/HDD: PNY CS900 120 GB 2.5" Solid State Drive/ Western Digital RE4 2 TB 3.5" 7200 RPM Internal Hard Drive
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3 750 W 80+ Gold Certified Fully Modular ATX Power Supply
Chassis:
Monitor: tryna find a new one for gaming :c

May 11, 2023
What temps are you hitting when having these overheating issues?
my CPU is getting to about 90C and its the only thing really getting hot inmy pc ive never had overheating issues ever before, and im not computer savvy so idk if its upgrading my GPU or my water cooler isnt properly working anymore ive had it for 5 years so idk if they just stop working after a while or what