Optical Audio Confusion

VermilionNeko

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2014
Hi

I'm having some confusion getting optical audio working through my PC. I've never done it before, so I could be missing something. I currently have my PC and PS4 sharing my monitor and 2.1 speaker set up. My PC is set up using analog audio and my PS4 is using optical. The source is changed along with the monitor's output when I go on the PS4. However, the audio sounds like it's much better with optical whilst playing on the PS4 and I would like to try it via my PC. For some reason I can't get it to work though. What could I be doing wrong here? One end of the optical cable is plugged into the main subwoofer speaker and I plugged the other into my sound card. It's an ASUS XONAR DGX. I've changed the audio device to S/PDIF (Pass Through Device) and I've tried changing the source etc., but nothing works.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

Solution
Do you mean S/PDIF pass-through device in Windows playback devices? Xonar DGX has an S/PDIF header on the sound card for compatible graphics cards with Hdmi to channel it's own audio through the GPU. I'm not sure on this but appears the pass-through device option is the S/PDIF header on the sound card.

Think what you want is to make default in Windows playback devices is Speakers: Asus Xonar DGX Audio Device, and in Xonar software check S/PDIF and PCM

boju

Titan
Ambassador
Do you mean S/PDIF pass-through device in Windows playback devices? Xonar DGX has an S/PDIF header on the sound card for compatible graphics cards with Hdmi to channel it's own audio through the GPU. I'm not sure on this but appears the pass-through device option is the S/PDIF header on the sound card.

Think what you want is to make default in Windows playback devices is Speakers: Asus Xonar DGX Audio Device, and in Xonar software check S/PDIF and PCM

Solution

VermilionNeko

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2014