[SOLVED] OS installed on C drive can only boot from D drive?

Minecarrot

Honorable
Oct 29, 2015
99
0
10,640
1
Hi everyone,
I've recently bought a new M.2 drive to put my OS onto as my old SSD drive is completely full up and causing problems.
To copy over my OS, I need to have only my current C drive and the destination drive connected.

I disconnected my other 2 HDDs and tried to boot back up only to have a message come up saying "Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key".

I then reconnected one of my HDDs which I had seen have some windows files in, and it booted up perfectly fine.

I also tried to disconnect the C drive SSD and only boot from the HDD, but I got a Windows blue screen error message saying some files were missing(I can get that exact error message as well if necessary).

This leads me to believe that somehow all of the boot files are on the HDD and the rest of the Windows files are distributed in some way across the two drives.
Please let me know how I can sort this out, any help is appreciated.
 
Last edited:

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
134,368
6,298
165,640
20,761
With the system running, please show us a screencap of the Disk Management window.
Identify which drives are which.


The boot partition living on a different drive is quite common. It happens when you install the OS with more than one physical drive connected at the time.
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
134,368
6,298
165,640
20,761
With the system running, please show us a screencap of the Disk Management window.
Identify which drives are which.


The boot partition living on a different drive is quite common. It happens when you install the OS with more than one physical drive connected at the time.
 
I've recently bought a new M.2 drive to put my OS onto as my old SSD drive is completely full up and causing problems.
Please let me know how I can sort this out, any help is appreciated.
So .. Disk 0 is the new M.2 drive and you want to clone windows to it. Right?
Do it this way:
  1. delete F: partition. Disk 0 should be all unallocated;
  2. copy 100MB System reserved partition from Disk 3 to Disk 0;
  3. copy C: partition from Disk 1 to Disk 0;
  4. shutdown system, disconnect all drives except new M.2 drive;
  5. check BIOS, make sure M.2 drive is first in boot order, boot into windows;
  6. shutdown again, reconnect all drives and boot into windows.
Done.
 

Minecarrot

Honorable
Oct 29, 2015
99
0
10,640
1
So .. Disk 0 is the new M.2 drive and you want to clone windows to it. Right?
Do it this way:
  1. delete F: partition. Disk 0 should be all unallocated;
  2. copy 100MB System reserved partition from Disk 3 to Disk 0;
  3. copy C: partition from Disk 1 to Disk 0;
  4. shutdown system, disconnect all drives except new M.2 drive;
  5. check BIOS, make sure M.2 drive is first in boot order, boot into windows;
  6. shutdown again, reconnect all drives and boot into windows.
Done.
How do I go about copying the System Reserved partition onto Disk 0?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
134,368
6,298
165,640
20,761
-----------------------------
Specific steps for a successful clone operation:
-----------------------------
Verify the actual used space on the current drive is significantly below the size of the new SSD
Download and install Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration, if a Samsung SSD)
If you are cloning from a SATA drive to PCIe/NVMe, install the relevant driver for this new NVMe/PCIe drive.
Power off
Disconnect ALL drives except the current C and the new SSD - Change this regarding YOUR particular situation. See above.
Power up
Run the Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration)
Select ALL the partitions on the existing C drive

If you are going from a smaller drive to a larger, by default, the target partition size will be the same as the Source. You probably don't want that
You can manipulate the size of the partitions on the target (larger)drive
Click on "Cloned Partition Properties", and you can specifiy the resulting partition size, to even include the whole thing

Click the 'Clone' button
Wait until it is done
When it finishes, power off
Disconnect ALL drives except for the new SSD
This is to allow the system to try to boot from ONLY the SSD
Swap the SATA cables around so that the new drive is connected to the same SATA port as the old drive
Power up, and verify the BIOS boot order
If good, continue the power up

It should boot from the new drive, just like the old drive.
Maybe reboot a time or two, just to make sure.

If it works, and it should, all is good.

Later, reconnect the old drive and wipe all partitions on it.
This will probably require the commandline diskpart function, and the clean command.

Ask questions if anything is unclear.
-----------------------------
 

Minecarrot

Honorable
Oct 29, 2015
99
0
10,640
1
-----------------------------
Specific steps for a successful clone operation:
-----------------------------
Verify the actual used space on the current drive is significantly below the size of the new SSD
Download and install Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration, if a Samsung SSD)
If you are cloning from a SATA drive to PCIe/NVMe, install the relevant driver for this new NVMe/PCIe drive.
Power off
Disconnect ALL drives except the current C and the new SSD - Change this regarding YOUR particular situation. See above.
Power up
Run the Macrium Reflect (or Samsung Data Migration)
Select ALL the partitions on the existing C drive

If you are going from a smaller drive to a larger, by default, the target partition size will be the same as the Source. You probably don't want that
You can manipulate the size of the partitions on the target (larger)drive
Click on "Cloned Partition Properties", and you can specifiy the resulting partition size, to even include the whole thing

Click the 'Clone' button
Wait until it is done
When it finishes, power off
Disconnect ALL drives except for the new SSD
This is to allow the system to try to boot from ONLY the SSD
Swap the SATA cables around so that the new drive is connected to the same SATA port as the old drive
Power up, and verify the BIOS boot order
If good, continue the power up

It should boot from the new drive, just like the old drive.
Maybe reboot a time or two, just to make sure.

If it works, and it should, all is good.

Later, reconnect the old drive and wipe all partitions on it.
This will probably require the commandline diskpart function, and the clean command.

Ask questions if anything is unclear.
-----------------------------
I get this error when I try to copy the C drive over:
https://gyazo.com/09ac7e9409e61c28eb647eabf41d44c8
Am I cloning the recovery partition that is in the C drive as well? Or only the primary partition?
https://gyazo.com/b1e24368ee5f479c8736743f5bf305b0
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
134,368
6,298
165,640
20,761
My understanding is that the samsung app is a C drive mover, not a clone, it should handle the situation.
But, since I have not tried this myself, I could be wrong.
Right.
Mover/clone/migrate....not much of a real difference.
SDM, AFAIK, speaks to only one source drive.
I don't believe it would clone/move/migrate only the Sys Reserved partition, and then later the C partition.
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
134,368
6,298
165,640
20,761

Minecarrot

Honorable
Oct 29, 2015
99
0
10,640
1
Failed to create snapshot.

I fear this is one of those situations when cloning is not a good idea.

When conditions are perfect, it can be great.
With a weird config like this, it may be time to just quit, and do a clean install on the new drive.
That's a shame.
Sorry for being so clueless, but what does a clean install entail and how would I go about it?
 

USAFRet

Titan
Moderator
Mar 16, 2013
134,368
6,298
165,640
20,761
That's a shame.
Sorry for being so clueless, but what does a clean install entail and how would I go about it?
Starting from scratch. Just like the first day you turned the PC on.

 

Minecarrot

Honorable
Oct 29, 2015
99
0
10,640
1
Starting from scratch. Just like the first day you turned the PC on.

So I just install Windows 10 onto the new drive? Do I have to delete the old OS files or how does that figure?
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS