Question OS Wont Recognize Second M2 Drive

Feb 5, 2022
Hello All,

Got my new computer up and running finally (woohoo, required a BIOS flashback to even turn the thing on). That said, the only issue I'm having is related to M2 drives, and no surprise as it's my first time using them.

Current setup is:
ASUS ROG STRIX 570 E-Gaming AM4 mobo
5900x CPU
32 GB GSkill Trident
980 Plus EVO (currently running the OS/working fine) - 1 gig.
970 EVO (took out, but initially was installed during setup). - 1 gig.
MSI 970 GTX (will put in the 3090 tomorrow now that everything is running)
1000w EVGA PSU

So the issue is in disk management disk 0 (which I assume is the 980PLUS) showed up, but disk 1 or I'm assuming the 970 EVO does not show up. I originally put in my 980 PLUS and 970 EVO. The 980 PLUS is installed in the M2 slot nearest to the CPU, and the 970 was in the second M2 slot. My goal is to have the 980 PLUS install games, the OS, etc. And the 970 would mainly be for storage (or low performance games).

The BIOS detected both drives, only allowed boot option on the 980 PLUS which is fine. When I got to windows, the device manager initially recognized both the 970 EVO and 980 EVO PLUS, so the OS and BIOS are picking up the hardware. That said, when I go to disk management, only disk 0 is showing which is the 980 PLUS and there's no option to add the 970 EVO as a separate drive to store data/folders, whatever.

Any thoughts? I dug around in the BIOS but didn't see options to change anything to PCIE, etc. Again both hard drives showed up in various areas of the BIOS but for some reason the OS won't add it. Also

In the interim, I removed the 970 EVO and the computer still boots fine. Strangely enough, when I right clicked the C drive, under hardware it showed BOTH the 970 EVO and 980 EVO PLUS, like both drives were somehow being shared for C drive space, I found that odd.

Lutfij

Titan