Overclock Core 2 Quad on Nvidia 7xxi Motherboard

Ladle

Honorable
Aug 24, 2012
Hello community, I've been having trouble getting a stable overclock on my PC and was hoping to get some direction from someone more experienced with system overclocking. This is my first attempt at trying to overclock a system, and after reading up on it quite a bit, I gave it a try. Some of the more successful details of my attempts are below.

My System:
Intel Q9450 2.66 GHz with Cooler Master TPC 812 Heat Sink
EVGA 780i SLI (132-CK-NF78)
8GB DDR2 PC6400 (4 x 2GB – Kingston ValueRAM KVR800D2N5K2)
EVGA GeForce GTX 460 (main video card)
XFX GeForce GTS 250 (for PhysX processing)

First attempt:
Based on “[p]'s 780i Overclocking Guide” (http://www.evga.com/forumsarchive/tm.asp?m=222688). I made many attempts at changing CPU core voltage in order to get a stable system. However, I was unsuccessful, below are the settings that seemed to last the longest under stress testing. I used Prime95 for stress testing and CPUID HW Monitor for temperature measurements.

Goal
QDR: 1666 MHz
DRAM: 800 MHz

Voltages
CPU Core: 1.3750 V
CPU FSB: 1.4 V
Memory: 1.85 V
SPP: 1.4V
MCP: 1.525V
SPP<->MCP: 1.25V

Max Temperature
System: 63 C
CPU (SPP?): 107 C
CPU1 (MCP?): 78 C
Core 1: 51 C
Core 2: 50 C
Core 3: 58 C
Core 4: 52 C

Results
Prime 95 ran for about 2:53:00

Second Attempt:
Also based on “[p]'s 780i Overclocking Guide”. I attempted to lower the FSB QDR to something that appeared to be much more attainable. 400MHz FSB is afterall what the motherboard is rated for by the manufacturer. I made many more attempts at changing CPU core voltage. Below are the settings that seemed to last the longest under stress testing. I used Prime95 for stress testing and CPUID HW Monitor for temperature measurements.

Goal
QDR: 1600 MHz

Voltages
CPU Core: 1.34375 V
CPU FSB: 1.4 V
Memory: 1.85 V
SPP: 1.4V
MCP: 1.525V
SPP<->MCP: 1.25V

Max Temperature
System: 58 C
CPU (SPP?): 107 C
CPU1 (MCP?): 78 C
Core 1: 51 C
Core 2: 50 C