Overclocking AMD Processor

Michael0090

Reputable
Sep 20, 2014
I want to try to overclock for quite a bit to 3.6GHz or 4.0GHz , however I'm a complete newb when it comes to overclocking.
I just don't want it to overload.

My system specs are:
Case: Cooler Master Centurion 5 II
Motherboard: ASUS M4A78LT-M
Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black 3.20 GHz
RAM: Corsair XMS3 8GB (2x4GB kit) 1600MHz
PSU: OCZ Modstream Pro 700W
Graphics card: ASUS ENGTX550 Ti
HDD: Western Digital WD6400AAKS, Western Digital WD10EALX
Cooling: Zalman CNPS9500A CPU Cooler, 2x Cooler Master Sickleflow Case fan

I already set my RAM manually to 1600MHz because i noticed it was set to 1333MHZ.

So what are the possibilities??

Solution
Well since you have a black edition CPU it is pretty easy to overclock.

First turn off CoolnQuiet, C1 mode, turbo core and loadline calibration.

Manually set your CPU voltage to 1.4v

Second, raise your cpu multiplier by .5

Save, reboot, and run a stress test in prime95 for 15 min. Make sure to monitor your CPU temps using HWMonitor. If all goes well, repeat until you either 1. Reach a thermal limit (I think the limit is 62c for the phenom series) or 2. you fail stress test, BSOD, etc.

Once you have reached this point you can raise your voltage. Reboot and go back into your bios. I typically raise my voltage .125v at a time. Save and reboot. Repeat previous step. If all goes will, continue raising mutiplier and voltage till you...

CptBarbossa

Honorable
Jan 10, 2014
Well since you have a black edition CPU it is pretty easy to overclock.

First turn off CoolnQuiet, C1 mode, turbo core and loadline calibration.

Manually set your CPU voltage to 1.4v

Second, raise your cpu multiplier by .5

Save, reboot, and run a stress test in prime95 for 15 min. Make sure to monitor your CPU temps using HWMonitor. If all goes well, repeat until you either 1. Reach a thermal limit (I think the limit is 62c for the phenom series) or 2. you fail stress test, BSOD, etc.