Overclocking the old Intel I7 5820K to a safe level

Dec 17, 2018
Hi all,

After messing around and tweaking my gaming settings i seem to have found a bottle neck in my PC's performance and i reckon it is my CPU that is causing it.

So i need to find a safe setup so my CPU wont decided to suicide on me leaving me to clean up its thermal paste mess!

I have experienced OC in the past but i am still a novice when it comes to ‘voltages’ so some expert input would be much appreciated :).

Here are my specs:

CPU: Intel I7 5820K 3.3ghz Haswell
CPU Fan: Corsair Hydro H105 240mm Extreme
Ram: Team Group Elite 32GB DDR4 2400MHz Quad
Motherboard: MSI X99A SLI
Power: be Quiet! 1000W 80 Plus Gold Modular
GPU: Asus 980ti

Any voltage settings you guys think would be a good setting to have would help me loads! ( I have a CPU & GPU stress tester to test the settings)

Many Thanks

Colin H

Solution
Your CPU is not a dinosaur just yet. Intel has been pretty stagnant on performance since your 5820 was released, so you are not missing out on too much.

Overclocking is really not some mythical science. It is also harder to damage a CPU these days as they have built in save guards to protect from damage.

My personal rule of thumb is to keep voltage below 1.4 (preferably below 1.35) and average load temps below 80C. Some people are willing to go to 1.45 volts and some people wont go above 1.3 volts. It really just depends on your risk acceptance.

You have a decent cooler so you should be able to get a decent OC. I would go into the bios and set your vcore to 1.3 and your frequency to 40. This will give you a 4ghz clockspeed at...
Your CPU is not a dinosaur just yet. Intel has been pretty stagnant on performance since your 5820 was released, so you are not missing out on too much.

Overclocking is really not some mythical science. It is also harder to damage a CPU these days as they have built in save guards to protect from damage.