Overcloking help I7 6700K and Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI ATX

samhanna

Commendable
Aug 7, 2016
i have a I7 6700K and Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI ATX, i am very new to overcloking and i am wodering how to control or set the max cpu voltage. i did try setting it in bios, but my computer keep going way over what i set it to be. also tryed setting it using gigabyte extreme tuning utility, but the voltage keep going over.

Solution
Ignore VID. You want to pay attention to Core Voltage. If it is just going a small amount past what is set, that is normal. I have mine set at 1.420 but the voltage goes up to 1.432 under load.
To counteract that, you need to set an offset voltage. So mine has a 12mv difference between what I set. So with offset, i would set it to -0.012v and that will keep the voltage a 1.42 instead of 1.432

In your picture, you have a 12mv increase. So the offset would be the same as it is for me.

KeelinTy

Reputable
Nov 20, 2014
There should be a setting near core voltage that lets you set it to manual/override

To start overclocking your cpu, set the voltage to manual and set it to 1v
next, set the multiplier for all cores to 40x
Boot into windows and stress test for 10 minutes while watching temps with HWMonitor
If you are able to boot into windows and stress test, set the multiplier to 41x and test again
Do that until the system crashes or will not boot into windows. Once that happens, bump up the core voltage by 0.025v and test again

Continue raising the multiplier until unstable then raise voltage until you have your desired/max overclock.
I would try to not go above 1.39v on that chip for a 24/7 overclock.

Once you have your desired overclock, run OCCT for 30 minutes to test stability. If the system crashes, raise the voltage some more. If it does not crash, then congrats on your overclock

samhanna

Commendable
Aug 7, 2016

o5nznma9f

https://postimg.org/image/o5nznma9f/