Overhauling my Computer

IrrationalShark

Reputable
Feb 10, 2015
Hello,

I already have a PC, but I am looking to overhaul it. In other words, I am getting a lot of new parts but keeping some old ones that I like. That said,

Parts I'm Keeping:
- Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
- 8GB RAM (I can do that, right?)
- 700w power supply (do you think I should upgrade?)
- Hard Drive (I can do that, right?)
- Optical Drive (I can do that, right?)

New Parts:
- Pretty much everything else. Here's what I'm thinking:
- MoBo: Asus Maximus VI Hero ATX LGA1150
- CPU: i7 4790k
- CPU Fan: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM
- Case: NZXT Phantom 410 Mid Tower
- Sound card: recommendations?
- Other expansion cards: recommendations?
- Case fan: Noctua NF-S12A ULN 120mm Fan

Anyway, I'm not a hardware expert and while I think most of what I'm wanting to do is possible, I figured I might check in with people who actually know what they're talking about before dropping hundreds of dollars on this project. So, what do you think? Is there anything wrong with what I'm wanting to do? Anything I'm missing? Compatibility issues?

Thank you for taking the time to read, and I would very much appreciate a thorough response. Thanks.

If you just building a gaming pc, i5 4690k is fine. An i7 is overkill unless you do some editing with video and images.
The onboard sound on the Hero is fine, you don't really need a sound card.
You may need a new window licence if your old one was not a retail version. I would reformat the old hard drive before installing windows.
You can reuse the optical drive,
You can reuse the 8gb ram if it is DDR3 with 240 pins.
What 700W psu do you have? Brand and model?
What are the amps on the 12V rails?

JimF_35

Distinguished
- Sound card: recommendations?
- Other expansion cards: recommendations?

- No sound card because the ASUS board has a desecrate sound system onboard.
- None.