Overheating? Im a noob HELP!!

CrossStealth

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2008
These are the links for my system
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/251011-29-never-overclocked-anything-start

I want to overclock this system but Im no expert and im fairly sure I did something wrong because my computer was at idle for about 5 hours no keys were touched no mouse moved and in power save mode. I checked the CPU temp and it was 69 which seems high. Ive never put thermal paste on a CPU before so I thought I did it wrong and took off the heatsink cleaned it all off the cpu and heatsink/fan and reapplied but a thinner amount fearing I put too much. I let the system sit a few mins and put it together and went to the bios and it was rising steadily till it hit 74 and I shut it off. I dont know if I put the Arctic Silver 5 on incorrectly but I took pictures of what it looks like currently for some help. I believe all 4 pins on the heatsink are seated correctly I know if I push any harder Ill break my MB but it seems snug anyway. Is this normal temps for a Q9550? Im gonna get a new cooling system but which one should I get? And how can I get it running at a good temp ASAP with the same hardware. Oh and should I increase fan speed? And if so how do I do that.

Thank you for all your support on these questions!!

SDC11373.jpg

SDC11377.jpg

sitting at the bios screen the cpu is pretty much doing nothing and getting no power .

Chances are the temperature sensor is faulty or the BIOS itself is faulty . You could try flashing it to a later BIOS but I would send the mobo back

rodney_ws

Splendid
Dec 29, 2005