[SOLVED] P4 connector burnt

Jul 28, 2021
Motherboard- Intel DG33FB
RAM- Transcend 2 GB
Processor - Intel Core 2 duo (LGA 775)
PSU- Intex ATX 2.03 450 WATT

I have been running this system for the past 13 years. For the past few days, my system was randomly switching off on its own after a few minutes of usage. I blamed RAM for it and opened my tower and cleaned the RAM and reinserted it. I turned on the power and something popped inside the case and a spark came out. I instantly switched off and checked what happened. After much of the inspection, I found that one of the four wires of the P4 (2x2 connector) was hanging out with black burn visible.

pmkmhOj5j

poBebt9ej

The 24 (2x12) pin is completely fine and no other damage can be seen on the mobo. All fans were completely fine and temperature was normal before.
I tried another PSU (400watt) and no boot.
I can only see motherboard light but nothing else.
I think using a cheap Intex PSU caused the problem. Is my Motherboard okay?
Any comment will be much helpful please

Solution
Replacing the PSU leaves the other end with the motherboard connector possibly still coated with not-very-visible melted plastic deposits, as lvt mentioned. It's pretty difficult to clean those pins off with any type of sanding tools without destroying the plastic. The pins are also shaped to be kind of springy and the high temperatures could have deformed them

Given the age and low value of the board and PSU, it would make sense to just directly solder the original PSU's P4 connector wires to the motherboard to eliminate any chance of a high resistance connection. If you have any sort of P4 extender wire around, you could solder that to the board instead to effectively replace the connector and thus be able to easily change PSUs...
Are you sure that the other PSU still work fine?

Another thing to try is to use a Molex to 4-pin CPU cable to replace the burned connector.