Question PC based survelliance system?

I am not sure if/where there is a proper place to ask this, so if it needs moved or have a better idea as to where to ask such please do.
I am a low voltage security tech. I have quite a bit of experience with high end camera systems and "DVR" style PC builds. Unfortunately I haven't been out in the field in a few years now. What I am knowledgeable of is high priced and high end equipment that will not fit this use case scenario. I have a couple of ideas but need some tips as to what/where to look for.

We have a shop that stores all our supplies and tools. It's a set of two conex containers surrounded by a fence. We have power on site and next week are getting dedicated internet and phone pulled. We had been using a set of four Arlo cameras to watch the gate, doors, and inside one of the containers. There is a nearby house that we (had) been using WiFi for connection to the cameras. It's right on the edge of range so they are very undependable. The person with which we have the internet agreement is moving, so the need to pull our own service and with it the ability to get something better. Aside from the battery and/or plug issue "engineering" that you can do with Arlo the cameras themselves fail within a year or so when actually in the weather. At the best of times they offer poor quality video for anything more than a few feet away.
Over the last several months someone has tested and figured out that the cameras are down and some expensive tooling has been disappearing from the shop.

I would like to have a system that would be as easy to access for viewing as the Arlo system is. Integration with mobile platforms and multiple users is going to be hard to move away from. Thinking both local and cloud storage options.

I have access to a variety of Dell OptiPlex machines both in MT and SFF forms. The SFF would be ideal for the placement however am concerned about the use of a capture card or the like if we went that way.